Bringing Investment and Opportunity to American Communities

The majority of EB-5 investments are directed towards targeted employment areas (TEAs): rural or high-unemployment communities that welcome new capital investment intended to strengthen the economic viability and vitality of their community and region. 

Below, we offer a number of useful resources to share information, news, and research related to TEA.

TEA Mapping Tool (Current Regulations) 

Based on the new regulations published by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security and went into effective on November 21, 2019, this mapping below visualizes the areas (tracts, counties, cities/towns, and MSAs) that will independently qualify as a high unemployment area and provides employment data to examine TEA qualification for any census tracts in the U.S.

View other mapping tools for TEA proposals

Distressed Urban Areas

Based on the New Market Tax Credit (NMTC) criteria, the term “distressed urban area” means an area consisting of a census tract or tracts, each of which is in a metropolitan statistical area and, using the most recent five year estimates of the American Community Survey, each of which has at least two of the following criteria —


an unemployment rate that is at least 150% of the national average.


a poverty rate that is at least 20%; or


a median family income (MFI) that does not exceed 80 percent of the greater of statewide median family income or the metropolitan area median family income;

This mapping tool visualizes all census tracts that would be qualified as a distressed urban area based on the above definition using data from the U.S. Census Bureau. 


eb-5 economic impact data


eb-5 Regional Center trends

Targeted Employment Areas Data

USCIS adjudication trends

Opportunity Zones

Added to the tax code by the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act of 2017, an opportunity zone is a population census tract that is an economically-distressed community where new investments, under certain conditions, may be eligible for preferential tax treatment. A qualified opportunity zone is nominated by the state and that nomination has been certified by the Secretary of the U.S. Treasury via his delegation of authority to the Internal Revenue Service under section 1400Z-1 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986.

This mapping tool visualize all of 7,826 census tracts across 50 states plus the District of Columbia that has been designated as a qualified opportunity zone under section 1400Z-1 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986

Latest News & Updates on TEA

No results found.

Research & Insights on TEA Trends

No results found.

For questions on the EB-5 data and research, please contact IIUSA at

©2020 Invest in the USA. All Rights Reserved.